Ron Jarashow to Chair City of Annapolis Ward Redistricting Commission

Ron Jarashow

Ronald Jarashow

The City of Annapolis announced today that it has appointed Ronald Jarashow of Gormley Jarashow Bowman LLC as the Chairperson of its Ward Boundary Commission and Redistricting Committee. Mr. Jarashow’s term, along with those of his fellow committee members, will expire on December 31, 2011.

The goal of the Commission is to draw boundaries that give each of the City’s Wards equal populations, equal power and equal voting rights. “I’m hoping that our process for public input will enable us to come up with a map that respects community lines and natural boundaries and make logical choices as to where certain census blocks should go,” commented Ron Jarashow.

Article II, Section I of the Annapolis Charter states that the City’s wards are to be divided into approximately equal groups based on population. The 2010 U.S. census makes it clear that the City’s wards are currently out of compliance. Accordingly, the City Council adopted Resolution No. R-2-11 appointing the Annapolis Ward Redistricting Commission (AWRC) for the purposes of making recommendations regarding the redistricting of the City.

Leave a Reply